Sahel (blk)

Available on backorder

SKU: 0720841303411 Categories: , Tag:


Release: 15-09-2023

Guitar luminary + Tuareg folk hero Omara “Bombino” Moctar will release his new album on September 15th via Partisan Records. Sahel’ takes its name from the vast African region spanning East-West from the Atlantic Ocean to the Red Sea, and is the highly anticipated follow-up to his 2018 album ‘Deran,’ which turned Bombino into the first-ever Grammy-nominated artist from Niger. To bring the ‘Sahel’ to life, Bombino worked closely with Welsh producer David Wrench (David Byrne, Frank Ocean, Caribou, Goldfrapp, The xx, Sampha), decamping with his bandmates to a studio in Casablanca for ten days to lay down the album. ‘Sahel’ is Bombino’s most personal, powerful, and politically minded work yet. It’s also his most sonically diverse, a quality he set out to achieve from the start, and one that is meant to directly mirror the complex tapestry of cultures and people that make up the Sahel itself. He says, “the general plight of the Tuareg is always on my mind and while I’ve addressed it in my music all along, I wanted to give it a special focus on this album.


  • 01. Tazidert
  • 02. Alwane
  • 03. Aitma
  • 04. Si Chilan
  • 05. Ayo Nigla
  • 06. Darfuq
  • 07. Ayes Sachen
  • 08. Nik Sant Awanha
  • 09. Itisahid
  • 10. Mes Amis