Fils-Aimé, Dominique


Our Roots Run Deep (HQ)

2 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: 0627987960204 Categories: , Tag:


Release: 22-09-2023

Expected Mid October/price TBC = USA Import

“Our Roots Run Deep” is Dominique Fils-Aimé’s fourth full-length and the first chapter of a new triptych. Her award-winning album trilogy of Nameless, Stay Tuned! And Three Little Words conceptualized the history of African American music. The approach for this forthcoming album is more personal. It sees Dominique look inwards, reflecting on her own emotional and spiritual landscape -her roots.

There is a cinematic quality to “Our Roots Run Deep”. Dominique Fils-Aimé frames her latest album with a loose, dreamlike narrative structure that tells a story of growth. She provides a spaciousness in her work by creating her own musical language. She layers a variety of catchy, wordless vocal licks that feel like mantras or prayers-repeating, soothing the nervous system, and distinguishing her sound. The result is a sonic space where the listener can feel and dream alongside innovative melodic structures.


  • 01 Our Roots Run Deep
  • 02 Hide From The Drama
  • 03 Just Let Me Go
  • 04 To Walk A Way
  • 05 Or Let It Burn
  • 06 Give Me A Reason
  • 07 Some Room To Breathe
  • 08 The Voices (Intro Vibes)
  • 09 Quiet Down The Voices
  • 10 Cheers To New Beginnings
  • 11 Love Will Grow Back
  • 12 My Mind At Ease
  • 13 Feeling Like A Plant
  • 14 Let Me Go (Bonus Version)